International roster of chip makers honored at World Electronics Achievement Awards

Article By : Brian Santo

Announced at the Global CEO Summit on November 9, the awards honor innovation in a dozen different product categories in the semiconductor industry.

The impending demise of Moore’s Law might be alarming from a conceptual standpoint, but as a practical matter the semiconductor industry’s potential for innovation hasn’t diminished at all. The winners of the 2018 World Electronics Achievement Awards (WEAA), announced on November 9, together constitute ample evidence that this is so.

The WEAA honors notable semiconductor products in a dozen categories that range from sensors to microcontrollers to power ICs. The roster of 2018 honorees includes companies from around the world, befitting both the international nature of business and the venue for recognizing them – the Global CEO Summit that just concluded in Shenzhen, China. The Summit is held concurrently with the Global Distribution & Supply Chain Summit.

The WEAA program honors companies and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to innovations and development in the electronics industry worldwide. Winners are selected by a panel comprising AspenCore editors in Asia, the US, and Europe, as well as through online voting by engineers across three continents.

Here is a list of the honorees:

Sensor of the Year

  • AS7221 (ams AG)
  • NXP 77GHz Radar Solutions (NXP Semiconductors)
  • Smart Wireless Monitoring Accelerometer (TE Connectivity)

Amplifier/Data Converter of the Year

  • AD9208/AD9172 28nm CMOS ADC/DAC Chipset (Analog Devices, Inc.)
  • ADC12DJ3200 (Texas Instruments)
  • High-Definition 4-Channel Audio ADC – AC108 (X-Powers)

RF/Wireless/Microwave Product of the Year

  • DA14586 Bluetooth 5.0 SoC (Dialog Semiconductor)
  • EFR32xG13 Wireless Gecko (Silicon Labs)
  • WS9638 (Zgmicro Corporation)

Processor/DSP/FPGA of the Year

  • Snapdragon 845 Mobile Platform (Qualcomm)
  • VC0718P SVAC Neural Processing Unit (Vimicro AI Chip Technology Corporation)
  • Zynq UltraScale+ RFSoCs (Xilinx)

Microcontroller/Interface of the Year

  • GD32 MCU (GigaDevice)
  • ATA65XX Family (Microchip Technology Inc.)
  • Renesas world’s first 28nm MCU, the RH850/E2x (Renesas Electronics China)

Memory of the Year

  • 88NR2241 intelligent NVMe switch (Marvell)
  • Ferri-UFS integrated Flash and Universal Flash Storage controller(Silicon Motion, Inc.)
  • 1.2V Serial NOR Flash (Winbond Electronics Corporation)

Power Semiconductor/Driver of the Year

  • ASSR-601J Solid-state relay (Broadcom Inc.)
  • SGM37604A 4-channel Backlight LED Driver (SG Micro Corp)
  • Toshiba LV MOSFET (Toshiba Electronics (China) Co., Ltd)

Power Management/Voltage Converter of the Year

  • LTM4661 15V, 4A µModule Boost Regulator (Analog Devices, Inc.)
  • MP2888A Industry First 10 Phase Digital Controller (Monolithic Power System, Inc)
  • PVxx-29Bxx Series (MORNSUN Guangzhou Science & Technology Co., Ltd)

High Performance Passive Component of the Year

  • CeraCharge, PowerHap Solid State Battery (EPCOS (China) Investment Ltd - A TDK Group Company)
  • Sliver SFF-TA-1002 Interconnects (TE Connectivity)
  • 225 EDLC-R ENYCAP Storage Capacitors (Vishay Intertechnology, Inc.)

Test & Measurement Product of the Year

  • PXIe-5820 (National Instruments)
  • R&S RTP Series Digital Oscilloscope (Rohde & Schwarz (China) Technology Co., Ltd)
  • 5 Series MSO Mixed Signal Oscilloscope (Tektronix)

EDA/IP of the Year

  • Cadence Virtuoso System Design Platform (Cadence Design Systems, Inc.)
  • PowerVR Series 2NX (Imagination Technologies)
  • Synopsys Fusion Technology (Synopsys Inc)

Software/Tool of the Year

  • IPsense (Cellixsoft Corporation)
  • Siemens PLM Software Autonomous Driving Solution (Siemens PLM Software)
  • AI Innovation Solutions (Synopsys Inc)

Keep an eye out for EDN’s Hot 100 products for 2018 in December, and sister site Electronic Products’ Product of the Year awards. Do you have any favorites from this year?

Disclaimer: AspenCore publishes EDN. The AspenCore panel of judges for these awards included Judith Cheng, who does double duty as assistant managing editor of both EDN Taiwan and EE Times Taiwan.

EDN editor-in-chief Brian Santo has been writing about science and technology for over 30 years, covering cable networks, broadband, wireless, the Internet of things, T&M, semiconductors, consumer electronics, and more.

Related articles:

Leave a comment